And They’re Off – NaNoWriMo Begins!

(Insert sound of Sam the Bugler playing “Call to the Post”) Don’t mind me – I just had a flashback to August in Saratoga Springs when Saratoga Race Course is open and there’s Sam in his red and white fox-hunting uniform in the winner’s circle while the horses are loaded into the starting gate… And that had nothing to do with NaNoWriMo, did it?

I think we DESERVE to have someone play “Call to the Post” to call us to our keyboards. Maybe Sam the Bugler is available?

I’m coming into NaNoWriMo already feeling burned out. I have the threat of back surgery and an appointment with a neurosurgeon hanging over my head. I just flew through more than 40,000 words on another project, plus completed a lot of revisions on my first novel. There was my 32nd birthday during October, and that wasn’t exactly a bushel of peaches for many reasons.

With all that going on, how am I going to write my novel in November?

Simple – I’m going to put all that drama on the page.

So far it’s a great cocktail of drama for a novel – I have angst about getting older combined with a less-than-stellar professional history. I have abject fear at the idea of needing surgery and the possibility that the surgery could go badly wrong. And there’s just that general crappy feeling of burnout which in a fictional character could be great – it may cause him to do something insanely unexpected.

I’m arming myself with wine, chocolate, coffee and frozen dinners (because if my fiancé thinks I’m going to miss a great opportunity to not cook for a month, he’s wrong).

Want to join me and thousands of others for a month of novel writing? It’s not too late to get started. Just visit the National Novel Writing Month website.

Finally, I have a request for everyone. Fear of public humiliation is a great motivator for me. If, on November 30, I have not completed my 50,000 words, please use social media of your choice to make fun of me. Thank you.

Please note – just in time for NaNoWriMo, I have added a “Resources” page to this blog. Check it out for links to everything from writing organizations, some helpful websites, freelance writing jobs, and even NaNoWriMo. If you would like to have a website added to this list, please contact me.

Leave a Reply

